Amber travel list scrapped as travel rules simplified

New simplified travel came into force at 04.00 hours today in the UK, with the traffic light system replaced by the rest of the world and a single red list. There are currently 54 countries on the red list, including Brazil, South Africa and Thailand. Most fully vaccinated travellers arriving from non-red list countries no longer have to take a test before setting off for the UK, making foreign travel cheaper and easier.

Woman with a suitcase walking along a beach
Foreign travel rules simplified

Fully vaccinated travellers arriving from non-red list countries no longer have to take a PCR or lateral flow test before setting off for the UK. This includes people vaccinated in the UK, the EU, the US, or 18 other recognised countries. Passengers must be able to prove that you are fully vaccinated. Everyone under 18 – and resident in one of these countries – can also travel to the UK without taking a pre-departure test, whether or not they’ve been vaccinated. All travellers – except children under five years old – still have to book and pay for a PCR test two days after arrival, which should still be booked before travelling. You will also need to complete a passenger locator form.

From the end of October, people coming to England may no longer have to take a PCR test two days after arrival. Instead, they’ll be able to take a cheaper and simpler lateral flow test. It’s hoped this change will happen in time for people returning from school half-term breaks. As yet, no other UK nation has said it will follow suit in this. Scotland says it will “align with the UK post-arrival testing regime” but has not announced further details. The Welsh government said it had “concerns” about easing its testing regime.

From November, fully vaccinated UK passengers will be able to travel to the US. This should include people who’ve had the AstraZeneca jab, although the US Center for Disease Control and Prevention has yet to make a final decision. Visitors will need to take part in testing and contact tracing. At present, only US citizens, residents and foreigners with special visas can enter from most European countries. click full source.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: